Northern Region

This is an association of sailing clubs and classes of sailing boats in the Northern region, which includes Gauteng, Mpumalanga, North West, Limpopo, Free State and Northern Cape.

LOCATION OF THE NORTHERN REGION

Political definition:
The region incorporating the provinces of Gauteng, Mpumalanga, North West, Limpopo, Free State and Northern Cape.

Geographic definition:
All inland provinces in South Africa.

OBJECTIVES:

To promote, co-ordinate and administer sailing in the Northern Region.

ORGANISATIONAL STRUCTURE:

Executive Committee
The executive committee is responsible for the overall promotion, co-ordination and administration of sailing in the region. It also acts as the South African Sailing (SAS) Regional Committee.

This committee comprises of:

SAS NORTHERN REGIONS EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
Russell Dowse  (Chairman & Treasurer) 083 307 3278 rdowse@wbs.co.za
Mark Templeton (Vice Chairman & Event Management) 083 440 9338 tastrucks@iafrica.com
Rob M'Crystal (Hi Performance & SAS President) 082 305 5929 rob@dischem.co.za
Trevor Hulleman (Development & SAS Councillor) 082 456 2174 trevorh@lithotech.co.za
Martin Smit (Inland Safety) 083 252 6191 martins@jsa.co.za
Teresa Wolmarans (Marketing & Communication) 084 626 0715 teresawolmarans@live.co.za
Gary Allen  (Dinghy) 083 632 1591 gary@masterdata.co.za
Mark Kopel  (Catamaran) 083 260 8116 fabtec@netctive.co.za
Steve Thysse (Keelboat) 082 723 2781 stevethysse@vicamail.co.za
Roy Reynolds (Radio Sailing) 011 818 5345 rkr@netactive.co.za
Dave Scorey (Bridge & Race Officers) 082 452 0134 daves@vodamail.co.za
Dick Manten (Chief Safety Officer) 016 371 1301 mantens@mantenmarina.co.za
Brian Sutherland (Chief Examiner) 011 864 4900 brian@swansalt.co.za
Alan Ford (Sea Scouts) 082 320 9224 alanford@global.co.za
Daphne Kasselman (Administration Office) 011 824-2402 daphne@sailing.org.za
Belinda Hayward (Development Officer) 083 616-0480 devnr@sailing.org.za


Sub-Committees
Sub-Committees are responsible for the promotion, co-ordination and administration of sailing in the region of their particular discipline.

These sub-committees comprise of representatives of sailing Clubs and Classes of boats in the particular discipline for which the sub-committee is responsible.

These representatives annually elect  a Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Secretary for their particular sub-committee.

Sub-Committees
NR Executive Committee
NR Dinghy Association
NR Keelboat Association
NR Catamaran Association
NR Bridge Officers Association (previously BOAT)
NR Working Committee (see NR Structure / Portfolios enclosed)