ISAF Youth Worlds

The team of 12 representing South Africa’s youth sailors arrived in Istanbul on the 7th July 2010.They were inspired and ready to do battle against the world’s best sailors in this “the most challenging sport in the world!”

420 Boys Asenathi Jim & Ashwynn Daniels
420 Girls Rosemary Finn & Heidi Burger
Multihull Matt Whitehead & Calene Loubser
Laser Boys Stefano Marcia
Laser Girl Jessica Deary
29er Open Brevan Thompson & Callum Kilpin
Coach  Neil Malan
Manager Colin Whitehead

The venue was Ataköy Marina in Istanbul, Turkey were 60 nations and 331 sailors were competing for the Volvo youth trophy as well as Gold, Silver and Bronze medals in seven disciplines.

The SA team produced some pleasing results with four in the top 12 positions and three in the top 10 of their respective fleets. The international competition was fierce and the event was sailed in extremely difficult conditions. The winds were light and variable, and not the forecasted weather for the event. However our team adapted to the conditions and pulled off the results.

The event has been a fantastic grounding for the young South African team. Members all had at least one year of youth sailing still to go within the age limit of the competition. The international exposure at these events gives the young sailors the right tools and mental preparation to move forward in their sport. It provides and excellent opportunity for them to nurture and hone their skills.

The team produced some great individual scores in various races, which bodes well for the future of South African youth sailing. We are sure to see additional medals returning home in future International World Championship events.

To sum up the results,
“Overall Volvo Trophy for best performing nation went to France with Great Britain in second and Spain in third. The ISAF Bengt Julien Trophy is a special unique trophy awarded to a competitor or National Team that has been nominated for displaying the attributes to encourage international competition. By overwhelming majority this year this trophy was awarded to Team South Africa.”
A feather in the caps of our team indeed!