The International Certificate for Operators of Pleasure Craft -more commonly known as the International Certificate of Competence or ICC - was established under Resolution 40 of the Working Party on Inland Water Transport of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE). It has become quite common for charter companies in the Mediterranean to request the ICC. Both SAS and the RYA recommend that people wishing to go cruising around Europe and the Mediterranean obtain an ICC.

SAS has been authorised to issue the ICC. The prerequisites are:
arrow 1. The person must be at least 16 years of age.
arrow 2. The person must be a South African national or a South African resident with a valid South African ID document.
arrow 3. The person must hold an appropriate SAS or SAMSA Certificate of Competence. For SAS certificates the minimum requirement is a SAS Day Skipper Certificate of Competence, and the ICC issued is for power and sailing vessels <24m in coastal waters. For SAMSA certificates the minimum requirement and the corresponding ICC is given in the table below.

SAMSA Certificate International Certificate
Day Skipper Category C <9m Power Vessels <9m in coastal waters
Day Skipper Category B <9m
Coastal Skipper < 9m
Skipper Offshore < 9m
Day Skipper Category C > 9m[<100GT] Power Vessels <24m in coastal waters
Day Skipper Category B >9m[<100GT]
Coastal Skipper >9m[<100GT]
Skipper Offshore >9m[<100GT]

SAS is not authorised to issue an ICC based on older styles of certificates such as those issued by Pretoria for category A1(1) or A1(4). Holders of these certificates must have them converted by SAMSA to the new format before applying for an ICC.

There are ICC certificates for inland waters and coastal waters. SAS only issues the ICC for coastal waters because ICC for inland waters requires detailed knowledge of the European CEVNI regulations for inland waters. The International Certificate of Competence issued by SAS is valid for 5 years.

Use the link below to download the relevant application form in PDF format:
arrow ICC Application Form for persons with SAS Certificates of Competence
arrow ICC Application Form for persons with SAMSA Certificates of Competence